VACB to probe PSC insider links

The Vigilance and Anti-Corruption Bureau (VACB) will verify whether any insider had let drop hints about questions likely to figure in Kerala Public Service Commission (PSC) tests to managers of private coaching centres that offer instruction to candidates to get government jobs. Investigators are verifying whether the government officials who moonlighted as teachers for the […]


Noose tightens around Sivakumar

The Vigilance and Anti-Corruption Bureau (VACB) will approach the Vigilance Special Court here on Monday for a search warrant to open the bank locker of former Health Minister and Congress legislator V.S. Sivakumar who is facing prosecution for “illegal amassment of wealth.” The VACB team had already asked the bank authorities not to allow Mr. […]


Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha denies he endorsed Pak Prez Alvi’s concerns over Kashmir

Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha on Sunday rejected Pakistan President Arif Alvi’s claim that the actor-turned-politician “endorsed” his concerns over the restrictions in Jammu and Kashmir imposed after India revoked its special status. Mr. Sinha, 74, who was on a “personal” visit to Pakistan to attend a wedding there, met President Alvi after receiving a “surprise” […]


The Huddle 2020 | Regional integration pegged to SAARC revival, says Ranil Wickremesinghe

Successful regional integration — both economic and security — depends on the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) becoming fully functional at the highest levels, Sri Lanka’s former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe said. Emphasising the need for countries in the region to link up both strategically and economically, Mr. Wickremesinghe said the postponement of […]