All set for polling in Arunachal

Campaigning for simultaneous Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Arunachal Pradesh ended on Tuesday.

The State has two parliamentary constituencies and 60 Assembly seats, but there will be contests in 57 only as three candidates of the BJP won their respective seats unopposed. The elections on April 11 will decide the fate of 181 candidates, including 11 women.

Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju is one of seven candidates contesting from the Arunachal West Lok Sabha seat while five candidates are in fray for the Arunachal East parliamentary seat.

The BJP candidates who won unopposed in the Assembly polls are Kento Jini from Along East constituency, Taba Tedir from Yachuli and Phurpa Tsering from Dirang.

The campaign was by and large peaceful barring the killing of a National People’s Party worker and a civilian by suspected Naga extremists in Tirap and Longding districts.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *