BJP may field Purandeswarifrom Vizag LS constituency

The BJP is learnt to have decided to replace Visakhapatnam MP K. Haribabu with former MP Daggubati Purandeswari as the candidate for 2019 elections. Mr. Haribabu is not contesting, according to a senior party leader.

Similarly, former Minister Pydikondala Manikyala Rao, who represented Tadepalligudem Assembly constituency, has been picked up as the candidate for Narsapuram Lok Sabha (LS) seat. Sitting MP Gokaraju Gangaraju is not in the fray this time.

It may be recalled that Mr. Haribabu defeated Y.S. Vijayamma in 2014 in Visakhapatnam, while Ms. Purandeswari lost to P.V. Midhun Reddy in Rajampet.

Mr. Gangaraju defeated V. Ravindranath of Congress in Narsapuram. Tirupati is another LS seat where the BJP unsuccessfully contested in the same year (2014).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *