BJP zeroes in on Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri as next Karnataka Speaker

The BJP has zeroed in on six-time MLA and former Education Minister Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri as the next Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly. The party has announced he will file his nomination for the post on July 30.

The elections will be held in the Assembly on July 31. K.R. Ramesh Kumar resigned as Speaker shortly after the BJP government won the trust vote on Monday.

Mr. Kageri, 58, started out as an Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad leader and debuted as an MLA from Ankola constituency in 1994, which he continued to represent thrice till 2008. After delimitation of constituencies in the State, he shifted to Sirsi and won thrice again in 2008, 2013 and 2018.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *