Cong. ‘finalises’ four names for Delhi

After weeks of deliberations on whether or not to have an alliance with the Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi, the Congress late on Thursday night finalised four names, including former Union Ministers Kapil Sibal from Chandni Chowk seat and Ajay Maken from New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

Former Delhi Minister Raj Kumar Chauhan is the party’s choice for North West Delhi, while former Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee chief Jai Prakash Aggarwal will contest from North East Delhi.

On the remaining three seats in the Capital, names of former Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit from East Delhi and Olympian Sushil Kumar from South Delhi are under consideration.

Sources said Congress chief Rahul Gandhi has asked Ms. Dikshit to contest from East Delhi but the latter has sought some time for consultation.

The names, a source said, have been finalised after a meeting of the Congress Election Committee. However, none of the names has been officially announced by the party.

In South Delhi, according to the source, former MP Ramesh Kumar’s name was being discussed, but a senior leader cautioned about the potential damage it could do to the party in Punjab as Mr. Kumar is the brother of anti-Sikh riots accused Sajjan Kumar. Former MP and Purvanchali leader Mahabal Mishra could be the party candidate from West Delhi.

Once the names are announced, the prospect of a tie-up with AAP would dim further. Sources said the Congress does not want to have an alliance with AAP in Punjab and Haryana.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *