Jana Sena announces candidates for two LS seats

Jana Sena Party (JSP) president Pawan Kalyan has announced former MLA Akula Satyanarayana and ONGC (Rajahmundry asset) former executive director D.M.R. Sekhar as the candidates for Rajamahendravaram and Amalapuram (SC) Lok Sabha seats.

He is expected to release a list containing 32 candidates for the Assembly constituencies in a day or two and the remaining later.

Welcoming Mr. Sekhar into the party here, Mr. Kalyan said on Monday that he was thankful to him for being with the Jana Sena Party since its formation in March 2014 and striving for the welfare of the downtrodden.

He also stated that many Dalit intellectuals who were close to Mr. Sekhar were supportive of the JSP and his entry into the party was a mere formality.

Mr. Kalyan said he had a special relationship with Mr. Satyanarayana and his family and expressed gratitude to him for joining the protest against the negligence of successive governments to the plight of kidney disease patients in the Uddhanam region in Srikakulam district. Besides, Mr. Satyanarayana has helped the JSP grow at a time when it was looking for leaders who shared his thoughts on diverse issues.

In a message on Twitter in the morning, Mr. Kalyan stated that “after a diligent process, the general body of our party has finalised the first list of candidates for 32 Assembly and 9 Parliamentary constituencies.”

No clarity on tie-up

Meanwhile, there is no clarity yet on the alliance of the JSP and the Left parties, who sought to put up a united front against the TDP and the YSR Congress Party after several rounds of discussions held by Mr. Kalyan and CPI and CPI (M) State secretaries K. Ramakrishna and P. Madhu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *