Jana Sena candidate arrested for damaging EVM

A Jana Sena Party candidate from Guntakal in Andhra Pradesh was arrested after he damaged an Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) on Thursday as polling for the 25 Lok Sabha seats and 175-member Assembly was underway in the State.

Madhusudan Gupta, Jana Sena candidate for  was arrested for Guntakal Assembly constituency, broke an EVM at Gooty.

Mr. Gupta, who had come to cast his vote at the polling station in Gutti, was angry with the polling staff over names of Assembly and Parliament constituencies not being displayed properly.

He lifted the EVM and threw it on the floor. The machine was damaged in the incident. Gupta was immediately arrested after the incident, the police added.

Anantapur district registered just 10.62% of polling by 9 am, since voting got delayed in several places and violence raised its head.

People came to the polling booths as early as 6.30 am, but were disappointed with EVMs not working till 10 am at many places in Anantapur district. While some people went back home, police personnel had tough time controlling impatient voters.

In Singanamala (SC) constituency, there were clashes between YSRCP and TDP followers in Jangampalli village of Yellanur mandal.

At Siddhapuram in Atmakur mandal of Raptadu constituency, the TDP workers attacked YSRCP mandal convener Bala Pothanna leading to bleeding injuries.

Actor Nandamuri Balakrishna and his wife cast their votes at MPDO office in Hindupur town from where he is contesting.

Communist Party of India state secretary K. Ramakrishna cast his vote in Anantapur Urban constituency, while sitting MLA V Prabhakar Chowdary, YSRCP candidate Anantha Venkatarami Reddy, Mayor Madamanchi Swaroopa cast their votes in the city.

Anantapur Parliament constituency TDP candidate JC Pavan Reddy cast his vote along with his family members in Tadipatri.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *