Kanna to lock horns with Rayapati

The BJP has finalised its State president Kanna Lakshminarayana and Mahila Morcha national in-charge Daggubati Purandeswari as the candidates for Narasaraopet and Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha (LS) constituencies on Thursday.

Mr. Lakshminarayana is a five-time Congress MLA from his native Guntur district — four consecutive terms from Pedakurapadu Assembly constituency and once from Guntur West — from 1989. He lost the election in Guntur West in 2014 as the Congress candidate and later joined the BJP.

Mr. Lakshminarayana now takes on his long-time rival and sitting TDP MP Rayapati Sambasiva Rao.

Ms. Purandeswari won in Visakhapatnam LS constituency on the Congress ticket in 2009 over Praja Rajyam Party’s Palla Srinivasa Rao and as the BJP nominee she lost to YSRCP’s P.V. Midhun Reddy in Rajampet Lok Sabha constituency in 2014.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *