MP tracker: How did your MP fare in the 16th Lok Sabha?

As many as 571 members were elected to the 16th Lok Sabha. This includes the byelections that were necessitated as and when the seats fell vacant. Of them, 62 members were part of the Cabinet at some part of the time. 


Since it is not mandatory for the Prime Minister, Council of Ministers, Speaker and Deputy Speaker to sign the attendance register, their presence in the Lok Sabha could not be verified. Also as per the Lok Sabha rules, a member has to sign the register to ensure attendance. So if a person takes part in the proceedings but forgets to sign the register, they will be considered as absent. 

Four non-minister members recorded an impressive 100 per cent attendance. This includes Ramesh Chander Kaushik, Gopal Chinayya Shetty, Kulamani Samal, and Bhairon Prasad Mishra. Of them, Mr. Samal representsthe BJD, while the others are BJP members. 

Ashok Gajapati Raju (TDP) and Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti (BJP), who were formers ministers also recorded 100 per cent attendance. Interestingly, all six members are first-time MPs. 


The average age of the 16th Lok Sabha is 58.3 years. L.K. Advani is the oldest member aged 91, while Pravin Kumar Nishad and Dushyant Chautala are the youngest at 30 years. 

Educational qualifications

Thirty four members have an earned doctorate, and of them, 14 were from the BJP. As many as 26 members are post-graduates, and 34 are graduates. 


Only 68 members in the Lok Sabha are women. This constitutes 11.81% of the total strength. While the BJP has the most number of women MPs (20), in terms of party-wise gender ratio, Trinamool Congress is the frontrunner. Around 34 per cent of Trinamool members are women. 


Bhairon Prasad Mishra, the first time BJP MP from Banda, Uttar Pradesh participated in most number of debates, 2,095 to be precise. Pushpendra Singh Chandel, another first-time MP, also from BJP comes second by taking part in 1,884 debates. 

As many as 28 members haven’t participated in a single debate. Among them, five of them have over 90 per cent attendance. 


Supriya Sule, NCP member from Baramati, holds the record for asking the most number of questions in the 16th Lok Sabha. She has asked 1,181 questions. Her party colleague from Kolhapur Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik has asked just 11 questions fewer than Ms. Sule. 

Maharashtra members lead the pack when it comes to questions. Eight out of the top 10 inquisitive members are from the State.

As many as 36 non-ministerial members haven’t posed a single question in the House. Ministers generally don’t ask questions to their cabinet colleagues on the floor of the House. 

Private Members Bills 

Nishikant Dubey, the BJP member from Godda, has introduced 48 Private Members Bills, the most by a member. Gujarat member Kirit Solanki of BJP introduced 33 such Bills, finishing second. A total of 1,116 Private Members Bills were introduced in this session, of which 639 were from BJP members. 

Here is an interactive graphic to compare the performance of your MP with the national average.

(If you are unable to view the interactive graphic click here)


Please note: Data won’t show for Lok Sabha members who were part of the Council of Ministers. 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *