Nominations cross 100 mark on a single day in Anantapur

More than 101 nominations were filed in Anantapur district for the 14 Assembly and two parliamentary constituencies. The candidates from the Telugu Desam Party and the YSR Congress Party filed their nominations in all the constituencies.

I&PR Minister Kalava Srinivasulu, Government Chief Whip Palle Raghunath Reddy and Hindupur parliamentary constituency TDP and YSRCP candidates Nimmala Kistappa and Gorantla Madhav respectively were among those who filed the papers.

Following a directive from the Administrative Tribunal, Mr. Madhav’s VRS application was approved by the State government. From the Hindupur Assembly constituency, sitting MLA Nandamuri Balakrishna filed his nomination with fanfare while former Inspector General of Police and YSRCP candidate Shaik Mohammed Iqbal also submitted his papers at the Tahsildar’s office.

Minister Paritala Sunitha’s son Paritala Sriram went to the Returning Officer’s office with much fanfare and filed his nomination.

So far, 16 nominations have been filed for Anantapur and Hindupur parliamentary constituencies – 11 on Friday – and 137 for 14 Assembly constituencies. Puttaparthi and Dharmavaram have the highest number of nominations so far with 17 and 15 candidates respectively entering the poll fray.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *