BCCI central contracts: Kohli, Rohit and Bumrah in top list, Pant makes entry in Grade A

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah are the only ones to have made it to the top most category of the latest central contracts list from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) while Rishabh Pant has been rewarded with Grade A contract in the first time he has made it to the list.

Shikhar Dhawan, who has not had the best of time lately and is no longer a part of the Test set-up has been demoted to Grade A, along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has also fallen off the radar as an all-format player.

Apart from Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar and Pant, Grade A consists of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma and Kuldeep Yadav.

Pant has been rewarded for his good show in Test cricket and after being ignored last year, he had made a direct entry into Grade A. Pant scored Test hundreds in England and Australia and is being groomed as the one to take the mantle from Dhoni once he retires from limited overs cricket.

Cheteshwar Pujara, despite his stupendous show in Australia, remained in A category since he is only a one-format player.

The A plus category players get a yearly retainer fee of Rs 7 crore, while A category players get Rs 5 crore. Grade B earn Rs 3 crore while Grade C get Rs 1 crore.

Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul continue to remain in B category are accompanied by Umesh Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Grade C has Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Hanuma Vihari, Khaleel Ahmed and Wriddhiman Saha.


Mithali Raj, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav were the ones to make it to Grade A of senior women central contracts of the BCCI for their overall role in the Indian team in all formats.

Grade B consisted of Ekta Bisht, Jhulan Goswami, Shikha Pandey, Deepti Sharma and Jemimah Rodrigues. Radha Yadav, Hemalatha, Anuja Patil, Vceda Krishnamurthy, Mansi Joshi, Punam Raut, Mona Meshram, Arundhati Reddy, Rejeshwari Gayakwad, Taniya Bhatia and Pooja Vastrakar made it to Grade C.

Among the women, Grade A earn Rs 50lakhs, Grade B gets Rs 30lakhs and Grade C get Ras 10lakhs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *