2019 Cricket World Cup: Warner’s century takes Australia to massive total against Bangladesh

Australia moved closer to the semifinals after David Warner, with his second century of the tournament, inspired the defending champion to a comfortable 48-run win over a combative Bangladesh here on Thursday.

The left-handed opener contained his natural aggressive self before swinging his arms freely to score 166, which steered Australia to a mammoth 381 for five, its second highest in the World Cup.

Warner, who had hit a hundred against Pakistan, added 121 with his skipper Aaron Finch (53) in a risk-free opening partnership and then raised a 192-run stand with Usman Khawaja (89).

His 16th ODI hundred, which was also his sixth 150-plus knock, came off 147 balls and had 14 hits to fence and five over the ropes.

The stage was set to go after the bowlers and Glenn Maxwell produced a 10-ball 32, which had three sixes and two fours. Maxwell was run out after a mix-up with Khawaja, who sent his partner back sensing a risk, and the latter was caught behind 11 short of a hundred.

Faced with a daunting task of chasing down a massive target, the ‘Tigers’, as expected, took the fight to the rival camp but ended up with 333 for eight in the stipulated overs.

Good cameos

Mushfiqur Rahim (102 not out), Mahmudullah (69), Tamim Iqbal (62) and the in-form Shakib Al Hasan (41) gave it their all in the chase but the effort still proved insufficient though the total was the Asian nation’s best ever in one-dayers.

It was Mushfiqur’s first hundred in a World Cup game and seventh overall. Paceman Mitchell Starc and Nathan Coulter-Nile shared four wickets between them.

The win took Australia to the top with 10 points.


David Warner c Rubel b Sarkar 166 (147b, 14×4, 5×6), Aaron Finch c Rubel b Sarkar 53 (51b, 5×4, 2×6), Usman Khawaja c Mushfiqur b Sarkar 89 (72b, 10×4), Glenn Maxwell run out 32 (10b, 2×4, 3×6), Marcus Stoinis (not out) 17 (11b, 2×4), Steve Smith lbw b Mustafizur 1 (2b), Alex Carey (not out) 11 (8b, 1×4); Extras (b-1, lb-5, nb-1, w-5): 12; Total (for five wkts. in 50 overs): 381.

1-121 (Finch, 20.5 overs), 2-313 (Warner, 44.2), 3-352 (Maxwell, 46.2), 4-353 (Khawaja, 46.5), 5-354 (Smith, 47.1).

Mortaza 8-0-56-0, Mustafizur 9-0-69-1, Shakib 6-0-50-0, Rubel 9-0-83-0, Mehidy 10-0-59-0, Sarkar 8-0-58-3.

Tamim Iqbal b Starc 62 (74b, 6×4), Soumya Sarkar run out 10 (8b, 2×4), Shakib Al Hasan c Warner b Stoinis 41 (41b, 4×4), Mushfiqur Rahim (not out) 102 (97b, 9×4, 1×6), Liton Das lbw b Zampa 20 (17b, 3×4), Mahmudullah c Cummins b Coulter-Nile 69 (50b, 5×4, 3×6), Sabbir Rahman b Coulter-Nile 0 (1b), Mehidy Hasan c Warner b Starc 6 (7b), Mashrafe Mortaza c Maxwell b Stoinis 6 (5b, 1×4); Extras (b-4, lb-4, w-9): 17; Total (for eight wkts. in 50 overs): 333.

1-23 (Sarkar, 3.5), 2-102 (Shakib, 18.1), 3-144 (Tamim, 24.1), 4-175 (Liton, 29.2), 5-302 (Mahmudullah, 45.3), 6-302 (Sabbir, 45.4), 7-323 (Mehidy, 48.2), 8-333 (Mortaza, 49.6).

Starc 10-0-55-2, Cummins 10-1-65-0, Maxwell 3-0-25-0, Coulter-Nile 10-0-58-2, Stoinis 8-0-54-2, Zampa 9-0-68-1.

Toss: Australia; MoM: Warner.

Australia won by 48 runs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *