BCCI Apex Council post: Gaekwad, Azad and Dhruv

Sheer indifference may have resulted in many cricketers not becoming a member of the Indian Cricketers Association (ICA) in order to take part in its first election through e-voting from Oct. 11 to 13.

But some well-known cricketers, male and female, who have played for India and for their States in the BCCI domestic tournaments, have entered the ICA election fray.

According to the final electoral list announced by the electoral officer, N. Gopalaswami, 1,267 are eligible to vote in the three-day e-voting.

The applications of cricketers who expressed their interest in becoming a member of the ICA on or before Sept. 21 were considered by the BCCI’s electoral officer.

Unopposed candidates

Former India batsman Ashok Malhotra is unopposed for the post of ICA president, Shanta Rangaswamy is unopposed for the ICA female cricketer representative in the BCCI Apex Council and former India ODI player, Surinder Khanna is unopposed for the ICA representative in the IPL Governing Council.

There are three cricketers — Aunshuman Gaekwad, Kirti Azad and Rakesh Dhruv — in the fray for the ICA male cricketer representative post. Both Gaekwad and Azad are former India cricketers, and both have been networking hard to get the registered cricketers vote for them. Former Saurashtra and Gujarat left-arm spinner Dhruv is also campaigning.

Former Delhi cricketer Ashu Dani and Gujarat’s Hitesh Majmudar, who was the bowling coach of Gujarat and has worked with Jasprit Bumrah, are in the contest for the ICA secretary’s post.

Tamil Nadu’s V. Krishnaswamy and Uttar Pradesh’s Kishore Kumar Sharma are contesting for the ICA treasurer’s post.

E-voting will also take place to choose male and female representatives to the State Apex Councils of Baroda, Goa, Hyderabad, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, and Uttar Pradesh.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *