Ganguly likely to be BCCI president

Nominations for six slots for the BCCI Apex Council and two for the IPL Governing Council will close at 3 p.m. on Monday, but until late on Sunday, a consensus eluded on the choice of President.

The names of Brijesh Patel and Sourav Ganguly were considered by vertically split groups.

Things were not clear about who will ultimately file the nomination form; there was speculation that Ganguly has the backing of former BCCI president Anurag Thakur and Brijesh that of former BCCI Chief N. Srinivasan.

Brijesh IPL chairman?

Whatsapp messages were texted conveying Ganguly being chosen for the president’s post and Brijesh as chairman of IPL.

Information also surfaced that Gujarat’s Jay Shah, son of Union Home Minister, Amit Shah would be the new BCCI Secretary and Himachal Pradesh CA’s Arun Singh Dhumal, brother of Anurag Thakur, the BCCI Treasurer.

Gaekwad in Apex Council

Former India player and coach Aunshuman Gaekwad was elected to the BCCI Apex Council.

He polled 471 votes while Kirti Azad got 381 and Rakesh Dhruv 223 in the Indian Cricketers Association (ICA) election on Sunday.

Gujarat’s Hitesh Majmudar (646) was elected ICA secretary, defeating Delhi’s Ashu Dani (436). TN’s V. Krishnaswamy (739) was elected treasurer, defeating UP’s Kamal Kishore (336).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *