Sarfaraz and Talat recalled for T20Is

The squad was finalised by head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and captain Babar Azam in consultation with Pakistan Shaheens coach Ijaz Ahmed.

Veteran wicketkeeper Sarfaraz Ahmed and allrounder Hussain Talat were on Sunday recalled to Pakistan’s 18-member squad for the three T20Is against New Zealand, beginning on December 18 in Auckland.

Talat played his last T20I against South Africa in February last year, while former skipper Sarfaraz has reclaimed his spot from Rohail Nazir after missing the Zimbabwe series. The squad was finalised by head coach Misbah-ul-Haq and captain Babar Azam in consultation with Pakistan Shaheens coach Ijaz Ahmed, who also locked his squad for the four-day match against New Zealand-A to be played in Whangarei from December 17.

“For the T20Is, we have retained the squad that has been playing together for some time,” Misbah said in a statement.

“The squad comprises young, talented and high-performing players, who are determined and eager to make names for themselves and further cement their places in the side.

“New Zealand boasts some of the best cricket facilities… I want my players to make optimum use of the upcoming opportunities by expressing themselves by playing fearlessly every time they take the field.”

Both Pakistan and Pakistan Shaheens squads are scheduled to depart for Queenstown on Tuesday, after completing their 14-day isolation period in Christchurch.

In Queenstown, both the sides will stay in different hotels and train at different times and according to their match requirements.

Pakistan’s Test side players who will not be involved in the T20Is, will remain with Pakistan Shaheens to prepare for the red-ball series, which commences at the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui on December 26.

As part of their preparation for the four-day match against New Zealand-A, which begins on 17 December, Shaheens will also play intra-squad practice matches in Queenstown.

Pakistan squad: (for T20Is): Babar Azam (capt.), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohd. Hasnain, Mohd. Musa Khan, Mohd. Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir and Wahab Riaz.

Pakistan Shaheens: Rohail Nazir (capt.), Abid Ali, Amad Butt, Azhar Ali, Danish Aziz, Fawad Alam, Haris Sohail, Imam-ul-Haq, Imran Butt, Mohd. Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Yasir Shah, Zafar Gohar and Zeeshan Malik.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *