Sports

IPL no-ball controversy: Cricketing fraternity slams umpiring blooper

Virat Kohli was furious on Thursday as the on-field umpire failed to spot and call a no-ball after Lasith Malinga overstepped on the last ball of Royal Challengers Bangalore’s chase. The umpiring howler cost RCB dearly as Mumbai Indians pipped the hosts by six runs at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Needing six to take the game into Super Over, Lasith Malinga’s final delivery to Shivam Dube was a no-ball that was missed by the on-field umpires as RCB managed 181 for 5 in reply to 187 for 8 by Mumbai Indians.

What hurt them more was AB de Villiers, who nearly took his team to victory with an unbeaten 70 off 41 balls would have faced the free-hit. Both umpires C Nandan and ICC Elite Panel’s S Ravi bungled completely leaving Virat Kohli seething in anger.

After the end of the match, Kohli was livid, “We are playing at the IPL level and not playing club cricket. The umpires should have had their eyes open. That is a ridiculous call at the last ball. If it is a game of margins, I don’t know what is happening. They should have been more sharp and careful out there.”

The winning captain, Rohit Sharma feels that these mistakes are not good for the game. “I just got to know when we crossed the rope. Somebody just told me it was a no-ball. These kind of mistakes are not good for the game of cricket, it’s pretty simple,” he said at the post match presentation.

“There’s a TV up there, they have to watch what’s happening. It is as simple as it is. Players can’t do much. The only thing they can do is walk off and shake hands because it was the last ball. It’s disappointing to see that. I hope they rectify their mistakes like we do when we make mistakes,” Rohit added.

Social media blasted the umpiring error with Michael Vaughan taking to twitter to vent his ire.

“In an era of so much technology and with so much at stake NO BALLS should never ever be missed,” Vaughan tweeted.

Aakash Chopra too was not happy with umpires’s mistake, as he called it a ‘colossal error’.

“Malinga’s last ball was a no-ball….BIG one. Umpire missed it. Colossal error. Unbelievable,” Aakash Chopra tweeted.

Source: indiatoday.in

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *