Nagpur T20I: Rohit Sharma on verge of becoming 1st Indian to hit 400 international sixes

Stand-in captain Rohit Sharma, who has mastered the art of depositing the ball in the stands, is just two sixes away is from getting to the milestone of 400 international sixes across all formats of the game. If Rohit more than 2 sixes in the T20I series decider against Bangladesh in Nagpur, he will become the only Indian enter the elite 400 sixes club.

Only former Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi and West Indies’ Chris Gayle have hit more than 400 sixes in international cricket. Gayle, with 534 sixes, holds the record of hitting the most number of sixes while Afridi, with 476 sixes, is second on the list.

Rohit, popularly known as ‘Hitman’, has hit 398 sixes in his international career so far 232 sixes in ODIs, 51 in Tests and 115 in T20Is.

Leading the side in the ongoing T20I series against Bangladesh, Rohit Sharma smashed 6 sixes in the Rajkot T20I during his 43-ball 85 knock that helped India level the 3-match series 1-1.

Read | Rohit Sharma pyrotechnics help India make it 1-1

Playing in his 100th T20I in Rajkot, Rohit hit off-spinner Mossadek Hossain for 3 successive sixes in his 1st over. The Mumbai batsman later revealed that while Mossadek to the cleaners, thoughts of hitting the Bangladeshi bowler for six sixes in an over did cross his mind.

“That’s what I tried, I wanted to go for six in a row but when I missed the fourth one I decided to go for singles,” Sharma told Yuzvendra Chahal on after the game. “I knew that an offspinner was bowling, and the wet ball was not going to turn, so my plan was to stand still and hit the ball without stepping out.”

Rohit Sharma holds the record for the most number of sixes in international cricket in 2019. He tops the charts with 66 and counting. Rohit had held the record in 2017 and 2018 as well wherein he had hit 65 and 74, respectively.

After the 6 sixes hit in the 2nd T20I, Rohit Sharma now holds the record for most sixes by an India captain in T20I cricket. With 37 sixes in just 17 innings, Rohit went past MS Dhoni’s tally of 34 (62 innings). Virat Kohli is third on the list with 26 sixes (26 innings).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *