PKL 2019: Bengal Warriors crowned champions after beating Dabang Delhi in final

Naveen Kumar claimed his 22nd successive Super Ten but it was Iranian all-rounder Mohammad Nabibakhsh who ruled the mat in the Pro Kabaddi grand finale on Saturday where Bengal Warriors were crowned the champions of season 7 defeating Delhi 39-34 in a money-worth summit clash.

Delhi started off strong as they took a hefty 8 point lead in the initial stage after forcing an all-out on Bengal Warriors but the latter bounced back in a sensational manner to win their maiden title.

Bengal Warriors were playing with out their captain Maninder Singh, who had 205 points this season, but Nabibakhsh did not let Maninder’s absence felt. The captain for the final completed an All Out to help Warriors make a comeback right before the end of the first half to help the scores level 17-all.

It was no turning back for Bengal thereon as as they inflicted two All Outs in the second half. Delhi were very weak on their defence as the two corners did not win the crucial points for the side. Warriors, on the other side, were strong on both their attack and defence.

Nabibakhsh was phenomenal throughout the game and so was his teammate Sukesh Hegde, who bagged a total of eight points.

Naveen looked a little dull in the first half as he failed to get the touch points and relied mostly on bonus points. However, towards the end of the game, his oozed fire and showed his rapid pace but it was too late by then. The young 20-year-old sensation was the leading scorer from both the teams with 18 points.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *