Top Stories

Congress releases 4th list: Asok Gehlot’s son, Manvendra Singh among 19 candidates fielded from Rajasthan

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s son Vaibhav has been selected as Congress candidate from Jodhpur while Manvendra Singh, son of former BJP union Minister Jaswant Singh, will contest from Barmer-Jaisalmer seat.

The two names are a part of latest candidates list released by the Congress party on Thursday night. While 19 candidates are from Rajasthan, Congress has fielded six candidates each from Uttar Pradesh and Gujarat.

Congress took unusually long in releasing the candidates’ list for Rajasthan as it was caught between whether to field sitting MLAs or go with other leaders including ex-MPs and ex-MLAs or the ones who lost in assembly. As of now, it has not fielded any sitting MLA.

Jyoti Khandelwal, firebrand ex-Mayor of Jaipur will contest from Jaipur. Major parties have traditionally fielded Brahmin candidates from here for long. And Congress has pulled a surprise here.

Ratan Devasi, who lost in assembly polls and represents the Rabari community, is a candidate from Jalore-Sirohi.

Rafique Mandelia who also lost assembly poll has been fielded from Churul while Shrawan Kumar will battle it out from Jhunjhunu.

After losing assembly poll against former Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje, Congress candidate Manvendra Singh has been fielded as a candidate from Jodhpur. Meanwhile, Raghuvir Singh Meena will contest from Udaipur.

Jitendra Singh, an erstwhile royal of Alwar and former union minister has been fielded to contest from Alwar.

Tara Chand Bhagoda, a veteran leader is Congress’s candidate from Banswara while Madan Gopal Meghwal, an ex-police officer, has been fielded from Bikaner.

Namo Narain Meena, former union minister and ex-police officer, is contesting from Tonk-Swai Madhopur. Ex-MP Badri Ram Jakhar has been fielded from Pali; Gopal Singh Idwa is from Chittorgarh.

Ram Narain Meena, a former deputy speaker, will contest from Kota. Subhash Mehria, who once represented BJP, has been fielded from Sika.

The party has fieled Savita Meena from Dausa constituency and Sanjay Kumar Jatav from Dholpur-Karauli. Abhijit Kumar Jatav has been selected to contest from Bharatpur. Jyoti Mirdha, ex-MP gets a ticket from Nagaur.

With the fresh announcement of 31 candidates, the Congress party has declared faces to contest from 293 Lok Sabha seats. The Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases between April 7 and May 19.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *