Top Stories

Four Muslim MLAs up ante against Congress

The Congress, which is already sailing through tough times, has been hit with one more hardship. Congress’s four senior politicians, who are also the face of the Muslim community, are not happy with the party.

Aasif Mohammad Khan, Shoab Iqbal, Mateen Ahmed and Hasan Ahmed have expressed their anger towards the party ‘openly’ at a hotel near Delhi Gate.

Amongst them, Shoab and Mateen have been MLA’s for five terms, and Hasan and Aasif were elected twice to the Delhi Legislative Assembly.

In a letter addressed to the Congress president Rahul Gandhi, they demanded nomination of a Muslim face for any one Lok Sabha seat in the national capital.

The letter sent to Rahul states, “Keeping in view a large number of Muslim voters and contribution of these five senior Muslim leaders and There Record of winning the elections, there must be one ticket must be given to any one Muslim candidate either from Chandni Chowk constituency or from North East Delhi parliamentary constituency.”

The Muslim leaders are eyeing the two seats that have sizeable number of Muslim voters. According to the leaders, the ‘Congress is the only secular party in Delhi’. The BJP and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are not nominating any Muslim candidate, in such a situation if the Congress, too, refrains from doing so, it might hurt the Muslim voters.

Though they have refused to go against the party, they have expressed their views to mediapersons and not to the party forum, which clearly shows that they are unhappy with the party’s decisions.

The letter mentions that Haroon Yusuf, too, wants the same even though he was not present at the press conference. For now, all the four leaders went to handover the letter to Delhi Congress chief Sheila Dixit.

According to them, if the Congress forms a coalition with the AAP, the party is free to decide as they choose to. The leaders are, however, not in support of forming a coalition.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *