Top Stories

Lok Sabha polls: Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, VK Singh among ministers contesting from same seat as in 2014

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) reposed its faith in most Union Ministers as it declared its 1st candidate list for upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Besides PM Narendra Modi, Union Ministers like Nitin Gadkari, Gen VK Singh, Rajnath Singh, Mahesh Sharma, Kiren Rijiju, Sadanand Gowda, Babul Supriyo have found mention in the candidate list announced on Thursday.

Nitin Gadkari will contest from Nagpur while Rajnath Singh will try to retain his hold on Lucknow parliamentary constituency. The BJP has fielded Gen VK Singh and Mahesh Sharma from Ghaziabad and Gautam Buddh Nagar (Noida) respectively. Babul Supriyo will contest elections from Asansol in West Bengal.

Union Ministers Kiren Rijiju and Sadanand Gowda have been fielded from Arunachal West and Bangalore North respectively.

Smriti Irani will take on Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Amethi again. She had contested against Gandhi on the same seat in 2014 but suffered defeat.

Minister of State for Human Resource Development Satyapal Singh will have a fresh chance to defend his seat Baghpat.

Even when BJP seemed to repose faith in union ministers, not all of them got the party ticket in the first list at least.

Krishna Raj, Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare was denied ticket from Shahjahanpur parliamentary constituency. She is the incumbent MP from Shahjahanpur.

BJP declared 1st candidate list for Lok Sabha elections on Thursday.

The general election will be held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19, 2019. The counting of the votes has been scheduled for May 23 and results will likely be declared on the same day i.e., May 23.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *