Top Stories

Sourav Ganguly vs Brijesh Patel: Battle for next BCCI president

All the affiliated units of the BCCI finalised the names of their new office-bearers in an informal meeting in Mumbai on Sunday. A consensus between the state units of BCCI has been built to appoint Jay Shah as the secretary and Arun Dhumal as the treasurer.

Former India captain and Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) President Sourav Ganguly is the front runner for the post of BCCI president alongwith former Test player and Karnataka nominee Brijesh Patel. Monday is the last date for filing nominations for the office bearers’ posts and the five candidates are set to do the same in person.

When the new office bearers assume office, it will end a 33-month term of the Committee of Administrators, which called shots in running the cricket affairs in country post Lodha Committee reforms.

Five state unitsTamil Nadu, Haryana, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Manipurbarred from the BCCI AGM are all but certain to move court. But the mood among the other members is to have the AGM as quickly as possible and take over the board’s functioning from the Committee of Administrators (CoA).

Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA), Haryana Cricket Association (HCA) and Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) have been barred by the Committee of Administrators (CoA) from attending the BCCI Annual General Meeting in Mumbai on October 23 due to non-compliance in their amended Constitutions.

This effectively means that the three non-compliant units will not have any voting rights in case there is an election during the scheduled AGM.

Also See:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *