Top Stories

The top 5 fights that will jazz up phase 2 polling

The second phase of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections 2019 will take place on April 18 to choose 97 members of Lok Sabha across 13 states. The following seats are hot seats in this election. Here is a look at five key battle in this phase:


FACE-OFF Anbumani Ramadoss (PMK) and Senthil Kumar (AIDMK).


Former Union Health Minister and PMK candidate Anbumani Ramadoss is seeking reelection. He is facing the anti-incumbency factor but his stronghold in this constituency would most likely be in favour of him against DMK’s Senthil Kumar and AIDMK candidate P Palaniappan. 2014 RESULT: Anbumani Ramadoss defeated Mohan PS by the margin of 7 per cent votes.

2009 RESULT: Thamaraiselvan. R (DMK) defeated Senthil DR (PMK) with 17.47 per cent margin.


FACE-OFF Sushmita Dev (INC), Dr Rajdeep Roy Bengali (BJP)


The hottest seat of northeast is Silchar in the context of the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill. Both Congress and BJP are fighting around this bill. Silchar is in the spotlight as PM Modi has visited the constituency more than one time in election season, and Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi held a roadshow on Sunday. Last week, Congress president Rahul Gandhi sought a second term for Sushmita Dev. 2014 RESULT Sushmita Dev (INC) defeated Kabindra Purkayastha (BJP) by a margin of 4.41.34 per cent votes.

2009 RESULT Kabindra Purkayastha (BJP) defeated Badruddin Ajmal (AUDF) by 6.02 per cent vote margin.

SIVAGANGA (Tamil Nadu)

FACE-OFF Karti Chidambaram (INC+ DMK, in alliance), H Raja(BJP +AIDMK, in alliance)


Out of 39 seats of Tamil Nadu, Shivganga is one of the most important constituency where Raja and Karti are facing each other as part of big alliances-AIDMK and DMK. The constituency comprises of six legislative Assembly seats with 14 lakh voters. It is likely to witness a tight race between ex-finance minister’s son Karti and H Raja of the BJP.

2014 RESULT: Senthilnathan PR (AIDMK) defeated Dhurai Raaj Subha by a margin of 22.34 per cent votes.

ALIGHARH (Uttar Pradesh )

FACE-OFF Satish Kumar Gautam (BJP)Ajit Baliyan (SP-BSP-RLD alliance)Bijendra Singh (Congress)


The communally sensitive seat of Aligarh is witnessing high profile campaigns with the visit of PM Modi, who addressed an election rally on Sunday. BJP has fielded Satish Kumar Gautam once again against powerful SP-BSP alliance candidate Ajit Baliyan. 2014 RESULT Satish Kumar Gautam (BJP) defeated Dr.Arvind Kumar Singh (BSP) by a margin of record 26.94 per cent votes. 2009 RESULT Ravi Kumar Chauhan (BSP) defeated Zafar Alam (SP) by a margin of 2.39 per cent votes.


FACE-OFF Jual Oram (BJP), Sunita Biswal (BJD) and George Tirkey (INC)


Sundargarh was the only seat for BJP which came as a face-saver in 2014. Naveen Patnaik-led BJD had won the rest 20 LS seats. Jual Oram seeks his fifth victory from the constituency. But he will face tough race as both the BJD and Congress have played their cards well and have fielded Sunita Biswal, the daughter of former CM Hemananda Biswal, and tribal leader George Tirkey against Jual Oram. 2014 RESULT Jual Oram (BJP) defeated Dilip Kumar (BJP) by a margin of 1.86 per cent votes.

2009 RESULT Hemanand Biswal (INC) defeated Jual Oram (BJP) by a margin of 1.52 per cent votes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *