Top Stories

TRS benches 4 sitting MPs, KCR gives tickets to loyalists

Telangana CM and TRS chief K Chandrashekhar Rao on Thursday announced the list of 17 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

Four sitting MPs including the party’s Lok Sabha floor leader and Mahabubnagar sitting MP, AP Jitender Reddy have been denied a ticket.

According to top sources in the ruling party, CM KCR has decided to give tickets to only party loyalists this time around, considering his ambitions at the central level.

Various reports of the 4 sitting MPs, Jitender Reddy from Mahabubnagar, G. Sukhender Reddy from Nalgonda, P. Srinivas Reddy from Khammam, G. Sukhender Reddy from Nalgonda and Seetharan Naik from Mahabubabad being in talks with other rival political parties surfaced over the last 4 years.

Considering the fact that KCR would need most of the 17 MP seats from the state, if not all, to make a difference at the national level, tickets have been given only to party loyalists without leaving anything to chance, party sources said.

Sitting MPs from Adilabad, Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Zahirabad, Warangal and Medak have retained their respective seats. Speaking to India Today, TRS floor leader in the Lok Sabha for the past 4 years and sitting Mahabubnagar MP, Jitender Reddy said, “I have done work as a party floor leader and MP in the past 4 years. I leave the decision to my boss. I have no intentions of leaving the party. You should ask the CM why 4 sitting MPs haven’t been given tickets, not me.”

This comes at a time when CM KCR has openly declared that his ‘federal front’, which now consists of TRS, AIMIM and YS Jagan’s YSRCP will prove to be the ‘king-maker’ at the Centre. Various rumours about KCR and his nephew, Harish Rao contesting on the Medak and Khammam seats respectively have been put to rest by the declaration of the candidates. Sources told India Today that it is only after the polls and after assessing the situation at the Centre that KCR will decide to go to Delhi on a Rajya Sabha seat, leaving the state to the present TRS working president and his son, KT. Rama Rao.


While TRS enjoys the ‘favourite’ tag in most seats in the state, Secunderabad, Chevella, Malkajgiri and Nalgonda are expected to be the ones to watch out for.

Secunderabad: Talasani Sai, the son of cabinet minister and Sanath Nagar MLA Talsani Srinivas Yadav will be taking on the might of former BJP state president G Kishen Reddy from the BJP and 2 time MP from the constituency, Anjan Kumar Yadav from the Congress.

Chevella: Sitting MP from Chevella, Konda Vishweshwar Reddy will be contesting on a Congress ticket this time around. Though the sitting MP has considerable hold on the constituency, the joining of former HM, Sabitha Indira Reddy’s son among others who have a hold in Chevella could have an impact.

Malkajgiri: Congress firepower Revanth Reddy who shockingly lost his MLA seat in the recently concluded assembly election will be taking on TRS’ Rajashekar Reddy who is a close relative of former Malkajgiri MP and cabinet minister Ch. Malla Reddy. BJP MLC N. Ramchander Rao could also be a force to reckon with.

Nalgonda: Nalgonda happens to be one of the constituencies where the sitting TRS MP has been denied the ticket. In this constituency, TPCC president Uttam Kumar Reddy will be taking on V. Narsimha Reddy from the TRS.

List of MP candidates declared by KCR:

  • Karimnagar: B Vinod Kumar
  • Pedapalli: B Venkatesh Nethakani
  • Adilabad: Godem Nagesh
  • Nizamabad: Kalvakuntla Kavitha
  • Zahirabad: B B Patil
  • Medak: K Prabhakar Reddy
  • Warangal: P Dayakar
  • Mahabubabad: M Kavita
  • Khammam: Nama Nageshwar Rao
  • Bhuvanagiri: B Narsayya Goud
  • Nalgonda: Vemireddy Narsimha Reddy.
  • Nagar-kurnool: P Ramulu
  • Mahabubnagar: M Srinivas Reddy
  • Chevella: Ranjith Reddy
  • Secunderabad: Talasani Sai
  • Malkajgiri: Marri Rajshekhar Reddy
  • Hyderabad: P Srikanth


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *